Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum Closes Today at 5:00 PM


Induction: Medallion Ceremony

MKTG_Inductee_NewClass_DigitalAssets_20 (1)

2020 Country Music hall of fame members-elect


Dean Dillon


Songwriter Dean Dillon has written hits for country acts from Jim Ed Brown and Helen Cornelius to Kenny Chesney, Vern Gosdin, Toby Keith, and Keith Whitley. Dillon’s contributions to George Strait’s body of work—from co-writing Strait’s first charting single, “Unwound,” written with Frank Dycus, to signature songs “The Chair,” “Marina Del Rey,” and “Ocean Front Property”—defined both men’s careers. Dillon's “Tennessee Whiskey,” written with Linda Hargrove, charted for David Allan Coe, George Jones, and Chris Stapleton. Dillon wrote with and for masters, eventually becoming a master himself.


Marty Stuart

Modern Era Artist

Marty Stuart began his musical career playing mandolin at local events in his native Mississippi. He joined Lester Flatt’s band at thirteen and remained until Flatt disbanded the group in 1978. He landed a spot in Johnny Cash’s band in 1980, and left in 1985 to pursue a solo career. He amassed four gold albums and six Top 10 singles during the 1990s. Stuart went on to become not only a revered musician and singer but also a songwriter, producer, archivist, photographer, television host, and spokesman for the history and traditions of the music that he holds so dear.


Hank Williams Jr.

Veterans Era Artist

Hank Williams Jr. has bridged generations by mastering time-honored styles including rock and blues. The son of Country Music Hall of Fame member Hank Williams, Hank Jr. had his first charting single—a cover of his father’s “Long Gone Lonesome Blues”—at age fourteen. Over the next five decades, he would chart more than one hundred times, with ten of those records reaching #1 on the Billboard country singles chart. Only Eddy Arnold, Johnny Cash, George Jones, Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, Ray Price, and George Strait—all Hall of Famer members—have logged more charting hits.

The Country Music Hall of Fame accolade was created by the Country Music Association (CMA), the country music industry's trade organization, to recognize significant contributions to the advancement of country music in both the creative and business communities. Election to the Hall of Fame is solely the prerogative of the CMA.

Through an agreement with the CMA, the role of the Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum is to exhibit the bronze likenesses of the members of the Hall of Fame in a space and fashion befitting the honor. New members, elected annually by a panel of industry executives chosen by the CMA, are inducted formally during the Medallion Ceremony, part of the annual reunion of Country Music Hall of Fame members hosted by the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum.

On that celebrated and private occasion, members of that august body join the members-elect, their families, friends, and business associates to welcome the new class of honorees into their midst. Each new member-elect is inducted by a fellow Hall of Fame member, who presents them with a commemorative medallion to be worn at each subsequent reunion of the membership.

  • What Is The Medallion Ceremony?
  • 24th Annual Medallion Ceremony

2019 Medallion Ceremony from Country Music Hall of Fame on Vimeo.

For more information about the Circle Guard, Ceremonial Stole, and the Road to the Hall of Fame: Rite of Remembrance and Salute, click the buttons below.

We use cookies in the following ways: (1) for system administration, (2) to assess the performance of the website, (3) to personalize your experience, content and ads, (4) to provide social media features, and (5) to analyze our traffic. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.  Please consult instructions for your web browser to disable or block cookies, or to receive a warning before a cookie is stored on your computer or mobile device.

That's Fine