Menu

Online Family Program: Collage of Many Colors

Apr 24, 202110:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Featured in the New York Times‘s 5 Things to Do This Weekend, celebrate Earth Day by reusing and recycling waste into beautiful artwork. In Country Music Hall of Fame member Dolly Parton’s song “Coat of Many Colors,” the speaker’s mother re-purposes cloth rags to sew a colorful coat for her daughter. In this program, we will read Parton’s illustrated book based on the song, watch and listen to archival footage, and take a virtual look at artifacts related to Dolly Parton in our galleries. Then join visual artist Britt McDermott to create a patchwork collage art piece inspired by Parton’s multicolored coat of rags.

Your challenge: use only materials that you were planning to recycle or throw away. 

 

Recommended for ages five and up, but all families with children are welcome. A guardian or adult is required to be present for children under thirteen.

Takes place via Zoom. Space is limited. Registration required. Free. 

Materials: 

  • Recycled materials, like magazines, bottle caps, plastic scrap, egg cartons, etc. Anything can be turned into an art material! What can you find at home? 
  • Glue or tape 
  • Scissors 
  • Cardboard for the base of our collage
  • Optional: Drawing or painting materials

 

REGISTER HERE  

 

By signing up for this program, you are confirming that a guardian or adult will be present with youth under age thirteen. The program starts at 10:30 a.m. Central Time (11:30 a.m. Eastern Time, 9:30 a.m. Mountain Time, 8:30 a.m. Pacific Time). An educator will send a Zoom invitation to you by 9:30 a.m. CT the morning of the program. Registration closes at 9:30 a.m. CT the day morning of the program, and accommodations are guaranteed for museum members. While space is limited, a minimum number of participants is required for this program to take place. While the instructor will have audio and video on during the program, it is optional for participants to turn their cameras and/or audio on during the live program. We will not record video or audio of participants for use after the program. This program is designed for youth 18 and under. Please know adults without children present are not permitted. Please reach out to familyfun@countrymusichalloffame.org if you have any questions.

 

 

 

 

Interested in supporting the Museum through our Annual Fund or learning more about Museum member benefits?

Click below to learn more.

Annual Fund Museum Membership Benefits

We use cookies in the following ways: (1) for system administration, (2) to assess the performance of the website, (3) to personalize your experience, content and ads, (4) to provide social media features, and (5) to analyze our traffic. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.  Please consult instructions for your web browser to disable or block cookies, or to receive a warning before a cookie is stored on your computer or mobile device.

That's Fine